Stable shareholder of KBC Group

KBC Ancora is a listed company that holds approximately 18.6% of the shares in the listed KBC Group and, together with Cera, MRBB and the other permanent shareholders ensures the shareholder stability and continuity of KBC Group. As core shareholders of KBC Group, they have signed a shareholders’ agreement to that end. Cera and KBC Ancora function as a single party for the purposes of the agreement.

Until 31 December 2019, KBC Ancora had the form of a partnership limited by shares, a legal form that was extremely suitable for anchoring purposes, in particular because of the protected position of the manager (who has a right of veto with regard to the decisions of the General Meeting of Shareholders that concern third parties, such as the payment of a dividend, and with regard to any amendment of the articles of association) and the possibility to ensure a far-reaching continuity in the management.

 

The choice of an SCA as the legal form for KBC Ancora had its origins in the function of this company in the Cera group, in particular to ensure KBC Group’s anchoring together with Cera, MRBB and the Other Permanent Shareholders.

On 25 October 2019, an Extraordinary General Meeting decided to adapt the articles of association of KBC Ancora to the provisions of the new Companies and Associations Code ("opt-in") with effect from 1 January 2020.

With effect from the same date, the company was transformed from a partnership limited by shares (SCA) into a public limited company (SA) with sole (statutory) manager.

In doing so, use was made of the possibilities offered by an SA ('new style') to grant the sole manager the same rights in the articles of association as in an SCA, so that the change of legal form has no impact on the anchoring structure. As was the case since the stock exchange listing in 2001, the mandate of the statutory manager can only be revoked if there is a legitimate reason to do so and the consent of the statutory manager is required for decisions to amend the articles of association, decisions to make distributions to the shareholders and decisions to dismiss the statutory manager.

Actionnaire stable du Groupe KBC

KBC Ancora est une société cotée en bourse qui détient à peu près 18,6% des actions de KBC Groupe, lui aussi coté en bourse; en compagnie de Cera, MRBB et des autres actionnaires stables, elle assure la stabilité de l'actionnariat et la continuité du Groupe KBC. En tant qu'actionnaires de référence de KBC Groupe, ils ont conclu une convention d'actionnaires. Cera et KBC Ancora agissent comme une seule et même partie au sein de cette convention d'actionnaires.

Jusqu'au 31 décembre 2019, KBC Ancora avait la forme d'une société en commandite par actions, une forme juridique qui se prêtait parfaitement à l’ancrage, notamment en raison de la position protégée du gestionnaire (qui dispose d'un droit de veto sur les décisions de l'assemblée générale des actionnaires qui concernent des tiers, comme le versement d'un dividende, et sur toute modification des statuts) et de la possibilité d'assurer une continuité importante dans la gestion. 

Le choix d'une SCA comme forme juridique pour KBC Ancora trouve son origine dans la fonction de cette société au sein du groupe Cera, notamment d’assurer l'ancrage de KBC Groupe, avec Cera, MRBB et les Autres Actionnaires Stables (‘AVA’).

Le 25 octobre 2019, une assemblée générale extraordinaire a décidé d'adapter les statuts de KBC Ancora aux dispositions du nouveau Code des sociétés et associations ("opt-in") avec effet au 1er janvier 2020.

Avec effet à la même date, la société a été transformée d'une société en commandite par actions (SCA) en une société anonyme (SA) avec un administrateur (statutaire) unique.

Ce faisant, il a été fait usage des possibilités offertes par une SA ("nouveau style") d'accorder à l'administrateur unique les mêmes droits dans les statuts que dans une SCA, de sorte que le changement de forme juridique n'a pas d'impact sur le structure d'ancrage. Comme c'était le cas depuis la cotation en bourse en 2001, le mandat de l’administrateur statutaire ne peut être révoqué que s'il existe une raison légitime de le faire et que l'accord de l’administrateur statutaire est nécessaire pour les résolutions visant à modifier les statuts, les résolutions visant à effectuer des distributions aux actionnaires et les résolutions visant à révoquer l’administrateur statutaire.